top of page

NORTH CAROLINA: UNEXPECTED BEAUTY


This is another post primarily made of photos because it literally took my breath away and (mostly) not because of the elevation. I never would've expected to find something so beautiful that nobody had actually mentioned before (y'all are slackin!). This was a happenstance find. I was looking for a place to camp or to waste time before picking up my mom from the airport in Charleston, SC and had 4 days to explore and I'm so glad I decided on this route.

I stopped for a quick night in Charlotte with a couch surfer (host). It's almost a given in the couch surfing community that the reason you're couch surfing is to experience the culture of a place with the help of your host. After I got in and settled, we decided to go explore a couple breweries around Charlotte and shared a pizza. He told me about his previous couch surfers, and I shared my previous hosts as well. I think I had the better end of the surfing... Hopefully, this won't deter him or anyone else from this wonderful experience! (Go check it out)

I was hoping to get a campsite in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park but ended up finding a closer (cheaper) one in the Blue Ridge Parkway. I drove into the mountains. Not that I could see them at the time, it was complete fog cover for most of the drive in and when it wasn't, it was raining. So I spent the night in my car because I never got the chance to set up camp. The next morning it finally cleared up and I took the drive out to the Great Smoky Mountains.

I wish I could say more about the Smoky Mountains other than knowing why they're called that. I guess I'll just have to come back again! I did take a nice hike up to a creek and back. It was still quite muddy so I headed back to Mount Pisgah, close to where I was camping, and took a hike up there. And then another night in my car as the rain clouds came in again.

(L) Someone find me these chips. I saw these in the camp store when I didn't have money on me and I'm so intrigued!

(C) This little footbridge here gave me a little bit of vertigo in the Smoky Mountains!

(R) This ungrateful little chicken bird! I saved her chicken bird babies on the road and all she did was squawk at me and run away.

If you like to drive winding roads, go here. If you want nature to take a bit of your breath away, go here. If you like camping in fog, rain and wetness, I guess go here?

Next up on my trip: the weekend in New Orleans for Kristen's birthday

Newfound road trip essentials: cottage cheese and boxed wine (removed from the box for cooler storage)

The most amazing sammich I've ever had: Regina's Kitchen Veggie (look for it in the Gulf Coast Post)

Clothing hand washed in a hotel: 10 articles... so far... I ran out of hangers :(

Don't forget: check out my instagram which has more photos completely out of order!

bottom of page