top of page

TEXAS: DEEP IN THE HEART

I've never considered myself to be overly enthusiastic about Texas or expressed Texas pride at all. But crossing over the state line and back into my home state, my heart swelled. Maybe it was being that much closer to home. Maybe it was finally being in places I knew. I spent the last few days of my trip in Houston and Austin, my favorite place in Texas (possibly the country, that's to be determined). It was a nice way to ease myself back into real life and finally coming home. Plus, I got to spend some good time with some more friends and my sister.

(L) Beer at this amazing pizza place we went to, Star Pizza before heading back home to watch Game of Thrones #sundayfunday

(C) Some fun little painting on the way into Saint Arnold Brewery, one of my top 5 favorite breweries

(R) Karbach Brewery

After some delicious breakfast tacos, I left my wonderful host to her law school lectures and headed out to Austin to meet my sister. We had a delicious open-faced sandwich. We went shopping. We made salsa and dinner. The next day we headed out to Jacob's Well, Blue Hole in Wimberly and a couple of wineries on the way home. It's been a very long time since I've actually done new things in Austin, I'm a creature of habit, what can I say.

(L) Iris (my sister's cat) likes my stinky laundry more than her Topo Chico box!

(C) Beautiful view from Duchman Winery before another rainstorm blew in

(R) My last official stop, strawberry cream cheese kolache from the Czech Stop

Aside from a horrible sickness that took over my immune system, I had a wonderful time in Austin and tried to spare my sister the sickness growing inside me. So I set out back to Dallas. Tradition dictated my last stop. Growing up, any time we were on 35E going anywhere, we had to stop at the Czech Stop. So of course, this had to be the final stop of my trip. One strawberry cream cheese kolache and one apricot cream cheese kolache later and I made my way back north to Dallas. Look for my next post with more statistics and learnings!

bottom of page